Right, I need to make 12 hats this year in order to complete my 12 hats in 2012 challenge.  This means a hat a month – easy peasy?!

So, I’ve been trawling Ravelry (I know, again! But seriously, if you’ve not looked yet after all the plugs I give them on here you really need to!) to grreat depths to find hat patterns I like.  It turns out I’m quite fussy when it comes to hats.  I’ve found a free pattern in each weight of yarn to share with you here, hopefully something might inspire you!

Cobweb / 1Ply

Osmena by Jenn Jarvis

Picture by Nipper

Laceweight / 2 Ply

Wee Possum Beanie by Justine Turner

Picture by JustJussi

Light Fingering / 3 Ply

Selbu Modern by Kate Gagnon Osborn (I’ve shown you this one before, but I really do like it!)

Picture from pattern page

Fingering / 4 Ply

Little Things by Veera Välimäki

Picture by Veera Valimaki

Sport / 5 Ply

Lumikukka by Marja Airaksinen

Picture by MarjaV

DK / 8 Ply

Geometric Hat by Vanessa Ewing

Picture by Langer Knot

Worsted / 10 Ply

Stella by Mary Kay Bishop

Picture by Madelinetosh

Aran / 10 Ply

Ski, Bunny, Ski by Margarite Nathe

Picture by Margarite

Bulky / 12 Ply

Capucine by Adela Illichmanova

Picture by Shanin

Super Bulky

Fannie Cap by Margeau Soboti

Picture by Margeau Soboti

And Something for if you Crochet Too

Gumdrop Slouchy Hat by Julie King – I need to master crochet so that I can make this – pattern uses Bulky weight yarn:

Picture by Gleeful Things

 

