Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The second yarn for the week!!  I’ve got a lot of yarn on my mind at the moment.

This post is about:

Rowan Felted Tweed DK (and maybe a little Chunky)

I’m having a bit of a love affair with Rowan Felted Tweed at the moment.  I love it.  I love how it feels, I love working with it, I love how it knits up.  So you get the jist, I really, really like this yarn.

Because of that I want to share my love of this yarn with you.  So, we’ll start with the version I have probably used the most of, the DK.

The DK

Fibre Content: Merino Wool: 50%, Alpaca: 25%, Viscose: 25%
Yarn Ball Weight: 50g
Yarn Meterage/Yardage: 175m / 191yd
Care Instructions: Machine 40 Iron Medium Heat Do Not Bleach Do Not Tumble Dry Dry Flat Dry Clean Certain Solvents
This yarn is such a joy to work with, it’s easy on the fingers and it doesn’t seem to fray too badly.  You do have to watch your tension however, if it gets too tight the yarn will snap.
The DK is available in the following colours:

Felted Tweed DK Colour Chart picture from Skein Scene

The Chunky

Fibre Content: Merino Wool: 50%, Alpaca: 25%, Viscose: 25%
Yarn Ball Weight: 50g
Yarn Meterage/Yardage: 50m / 55       yd
Care Instructions: Machine 40 Iron Medium Heat Do Not Bleach Do Not Tumble Dry Dry Flat Dry Clean Certain Solvents
I love this yarn because it knits up quickly, it feels as though it’s going to be warm and the colours are wonderful – I really like the flecks of other colours all the Felted Tweed yarns have dotted throughout them.
The Chunky is available in the following colours:

Rowan Felted Tweed Chunky Colour Card picture by Skein Scene

This is my 5 star yarn of the moment!  And I have so much in my stash I’m going to be using it for quite a while yet!

The colour cards for the Rowan yarns, and many others can be found by visiting Skein Scene.

Project Ideas

As I love this yarn so much I thought I would include some project ideas as well.

The KnitRowan website is a great place to start, they have lots of free patterns there for all of their yarns.

Having scouted around Ravelry a bit I have also found these which are defintely going to end up in my Queue!

Nalu Mitts

Picture by EraLunaris

A free pattern download on Ravelry (this is why I love Ravelry quite so much!) by Leila Raabe.

Twisted Rib Neck Warmer

Picture by Michelle Johnston

A gorgeous neck warmer designed by Michelle Johnston.

Selbu Modern

Picture by Klupy

A fun slouch style hat designed by Kate Gagnon Osborn.

Happy Knitting!

