ooooo, sparkly!

Name: Creative Galaxy Chunky

Brand: Rico Design

Weight: Bulky/12 Ply

Yardage: 100g = 109 yds (100m)

Gauge: 14 stitches = 4 inches

Needles: US 10 (6mm)

Hook Size: 6mm (J)

Fibres: 71% Acrylic, 27% Wool, 2% Other (Sequins)

Colour Ways:

001 - Pink, 002 - Blue, 003 - Green/Purple/Orange, 004 - Teal/Brown, 005 - Brown & 006 - Grey

What I Think

This yarn is brilliant!  It is superduper soft, the sequins are subtle so you get sparkle without it being tacky, and the solid colours have gorgeous colour changes.

Unfortunately, I don’t think an awful lot to their multicoloured colour ways, I don’t mind the pink and green variegation, but I’m not convinced by the Purple/Green/Orange and Teal/Brown mixes.  Maybe if I see some knitted up I’ll change my mind?

What you can use it for

I am currently knitting up this in the grey colourway:

Shawl Collar Vest by Jennifer Miller

The pattern is a free Ravelry download which can be found here and has been designed by Jennifer Miller.  Of course, I have ravelled about it, and my project page is here.

The chunky weight yarn is great for quick knit projects, here are a few more ideas (click the picture to go to the relevant webpage):

Wombat Schaltuch by Elke Becker (Knit)

 

Slouchy Beret in Noro Silk Garden Chunky by Sandra Alice (Knit)

 

Kindle Cozy by Amanda Pacheco (Knit)

 

Textured Bag by Lion Brand Yarn (Crochet)

 

Hayley Bear Beanie by Beverley Laundry (Crochet)

